
- What Job Bank says (Alberta): IT support and network technician jobs usually require a college diploma, and cybersecurity specialist jobs a university degree. Of Alberta cybersecurity specialists, 54% hold a bachelor’s degree or higher and 32% a college certificate or diploma. Job Bank names no specific certification; it says only that some employers may require vendor certification.
- The common order: CompTIA A+, then Network+, then Security+ as the baseline. CySA+, SC-900 or CEH come next, depending on the direction you choose. CISSP is a later-career goal.
- Exams: A+ is two exams; Network+ and Security+ are one exam each. CompTIA sets the fees and they change, so check comptia.org before you budget.
- Experience rule: the full CISSP certification needs several years of paid work in the field.
- Certificates are not enough alone: employers ask how you would handle a phishing incident, so pair exam study with lab practice.
What certifications prove when you are starting out
Many people enter cybersecurity through IT support and certifications, although Job Bank says cybersecurity specialist jobs usually require a university degree. Employers such as Alberta energy companies, Alberta Health Services (AHS), and municipal or provincial government IT departments often look for the same thing: proof you can configure a firewall, triage an alert, or harden a server, not just a transcript. Certifications backed by hands-on lab work are how you demonstrate that proof without years of prior experience. This guide walks through the sensible order to earn them, what each one actually proves, roughly what they cost, and which Alberta employers and roles tend to value them.

The baseline ladder: A+, Network+, Security+
Many entry-level IT and security job postings in Alberta mention some combination of these three CompTIA certifications. They build on each other, so most learners take them in this order.
- CompTIA A+ proves you understand hardware, operating systems, and basic troubleshooting. It is split into two exams. CompTIA sets the fees and changes them, so check comptia.org before you budget. Most learners spend two to four months preparing if they are studying alongside other commitments. This is the foundation help desk and desktop support roles look for, and it is also the on-ramp many future security analysts use to get their first IT job.
- CompTIA Network+ proves you understand how data moves: IP addressing, routing, switching, and common network protocols. A single exam, usually two to three months of study after A+. You cannot secure a network you do not understand, which is why this sits between A+ and Security+.
- CompTIA Security+ is commonly named in junior security postings. It covers threats, vulnerabilities, risk management, cryptography basics, and security operations. It is often the minimum bar for Security Operations Centre (SOC) analyst and IT security technician roles in Calgary and Edmonton. Security+ is also one of the certifications approved under the U.S. Department of Defense’s DoDM 8140.03 workforce manual (which replaced the older DoD 8570), a signal of how broadly it’s recognized.
Together, A+ through Security+ tell an employer you can support, understand, and defend a standard IT environment. That combination can open the door to a first help desk, junior sysadmin or entry-level security role, although employers decide each hire.
Branching out: role-specific certifications
Once you have the baseline in place, the next certifications you pursue depend on which direction you want your career to go.
- Microsoft SC-900 (Security, Compliance, and Identity Fundamentals) is a lighter-weight certification, often achievable in a matter of weeks, that proves familiarity with cloud security concepts in Microsoft 365 and Azure. It’s a useful add-on if you’re aiming at organizations, and there are many in Alberta, that run heavily on Microsoft cloud infrastructure.
- CompTIA CySA+ (Cybersecurity Analyst) goes deeper into detection and response: log analysis, threat hunting, and incident response workflows. This is a natural next step for anyone targeting a SOC analyst role, and it maps closely to the day-to-day work of monitoring alerts and investigating incidents.
- Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) focuses on offensive security, the tools and mindset used in penetration testing. It’s a good fit if you’re drawn to red-team work rather than defensive monitoring, though most learners pursue it after some hands-on SOC or IT security experience rather than as a first certification.
These are not necessarily sequential. Choose based on whether the work that interests you is more defensive (CySA+), cloud- and compliance-oriented (SC-900), or offensive (CEH).
The long-term goal: CISSP
The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is widely regarded as a senior-level benchmark for security roles, security architects, managers, and consultants. It’s not an entry-level goal: ISC2 requires several years of paid work experience in the field before you can hold the full certification, though you can pass the exam earlier and hold “Associate of ISC2” status while you accumulate experience. Treat CISSP as a five-year horizon, not a starting point. It becomes relevant once you’re already working in security and looking to move into leadership or specialist consulting roles.
| Certification | What it shows an employer | Typical study time, as described above |
|---|---|---|
| CompTIA A+ | Hardware, operating systems and basic troubleshooting | 2 to 4 months; two exams |
| CompTIA Network+ | How data moves: IP addressing, routing, switching, protocols | 2 to 3 months after A+; one exam |
| CompTIA Security+ | Threats, vulnerabilities, risk management, cryptography basics, security operations | Not stated; one exam |
| Microsoft SC-900 | Cloud security and compliance concepts in Microsoft 365 and Azure | Often a few weeks |
| CompTIA CySA+ | Detection and response: log analysis, threat hunting, incident response | Not stated; the next step for SOC analyst roles |
| Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) | Offensive security and penetration-testing methods | Usually after some hands-on experience |
| CISSP | Senior-level security knowledge | A five-year horizon; needs paid experience |
Summary of the sections above. Certification bodies set exam rules and fees; check their pages in the Sources list.
Where these certifications matter in Alberta specifically
Alberta’s cybersecurity job market has a distinct flavour compared to, say, Toronto or Vancouver, because of the concentration of energy-sector employers.
- Energy and OT (operational technology) security is a significant employer category in Calgary and across the province. Oil and gas operators run industrial control systems (SCADA and similar), and roles protecting that infrastructure often want a Security+ or CySA+ baseline plus a willingness to learn OT-specific concepts on the job.
- Alberta Health Services and other public healthcare IT teams handle large volumes of sensitive patient data. Their IT security and infrastructure roles can list CompTIA certifications as preferred.
- Government of Alberta and municipal IT departments in Edmonton and Calgary hire security analysts and IT security specialists, and postings sometimes mention Security+ or an equivalent.
- SOC analyst roles at managed security service providers and mid-size Alberta businesses are one of the most accessible entry points, and postings often list Security+ or CySA+.
What Job Bank says about certifications and credentials
Official data about IT support, network and cybersecurity jobs. It describes these jobs across the province, not what Ucademy students will earn, and it shows the less favourable figures as well as the favourable ones.
| IT support | Network technician | Cybersecurity specialist | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Job Bank group | User support technicians (22221) | Computer network and web technicians (22220) | Cybersecurity specialists (21220) |
| Job Bank “usually requires” | College diploma | College diploma | University degree |
| What Job Bank says about vendor certification | “Certification or training provided by software vendors may be required by some employers.” | Same wording | Same wording; Job Bank also says it has no information on professional certification requirements |
| Workers with a college certificate or diploma | 33% | 39% | 32% |
| Workers with a bachelor’s degree or higher | 36% | 32% | 54% |
Job Bank lists vendor certification only as something “some employers” may require; it names no specific certification. Employers decide what to ask for in each posting, so job ads (not Job Bank) show which certifications they mention.
Source: Job Bank requirements and summary pages · Alberta, outlook pages updated Dec 10, 2025.
Data checked October 19, 2026: Job Bank wages updated Nov 19, 2025, outlooks Dec 10, 2025; Job Bank requirements pages. Occupation data, not a program outcome.

Certifications plus labs, not certifications alone
A certificate on its own tells an employer you passed a multiple-choice exam. What actually gets you hired is being able to talk through how you’d respond to a phishing incident, read a packet capture, or configure access controls, because you’ve done it, even in a lab environment. Home labs, capture-the-flag exercises, and structured coursework that pairs certification content with hands-on practice consistently outperform certification-only study plans in interviews.
Ucademy’s Cybersecurity Specialist Diploma and Security Analyst Certificate address this gap: structured, sequenced preparation that pairs the concepts behind certifications like Security+ and CySA+ with applied lab work, rather than leaving you to self-study in isolation.
Our comparison of the Cybersecurity Specialist and Security Analyst programs sets out hours, content and Job Bank pay side by side.
Whichever path you take, self-study or structured coursework, the order matters less than the combination: build the baseline (A+, Network+, Security+), specialize based on what you enjoy (SC-900, CySA+, or CEH), and treat CISSP as the milestone that comes after you’ve already built a career, not before.
Keep reading
- How to Break Into Cybersecurity in Canada Without a Degree
- Cybersecurity Jobs in Alberta: Career Paths, Salaries and How to Break In
Sources
- Job Bank: requirements for cybersecurity specialists (NOC 21220), Alberta
- CompTIA: certifications (A+, Network+, Security+, CySA+) and current exam details
- ISC2: CISSP certification and experience requirements
Checked October 20, 2026.
Related reading: What Does a Cybersecurity Analyst Do? Role, Skills & Salary in Alberta
Train for this career
Ucademy's online Cybersecurity Specialist Diploma is designed to help you build the skills employers look for.
